Are you a working mom? Would anyone want to post what they do, marital status, etc.? I am in an interesting place with work and was wondering how all of the other parents manage this. I work full time, carry the health insurance and am separated. At some point I will need to be home for Ben more than I am now (I work 12 hour night shift) and am not sure where I'm headed.

A quick poll?


Views: 86


You need to be a member of PPMD Community to add comments!

Join PPMD Community

Comment by Kathy on February 12, 2009 at 11:36pm
Wow! How do you guys do it?! I was just wondering today how I would work 3-4 (10-12) hour days landscaping and be around for EIP and doctors appts! Keelan was diagnosed during my layoff time over the winter, but I'm able to work most days at home writing health and safety plans. My husband works full time as a web developer and carries the insurance. I'm wondering when laundry and house cleaning will happen!
Comment by Kristi Powell on February 7, 2009 at 9:05pm
Well, let's see....I have always worked full time. I leave the house around 7:40, drop the boys ( 7 and 11) off at school ( about 2 minutes away), then head on in to the office where I am a Early Interventionist working with chidlren birth to age 3. I basically receive a referral, go out and do a screening, see if they are delayed in any of these areas: congnition, communication, social emotional, motor ( fine and gross), adaptive..if they are, I get another person to do the full blown assessment ( we all used to do those but it's easier to just let 2 people do them) then, hook them up with what they need to catch PT, OT, ST and get a home teacher to work with them 1 hour a week...phew! I don't acutally work in the county I live in, I travel anywhere from 45 min to 11/2 hours away. Husband picks the kids up from school, I get off around 4:30 he leaves for work around 5:30 ( RN works nights), and 1 night a week we go to Hydro Therapy for 1 hr. Boys in bed by 9:00 and then REPEAT the next day! How's that? I am acutally a social worker, but my job has a combo of social work and education..I heard on Friday that a co worker just got a referral of a little 9 month old boy who was diagnosed with Muscular Dystorphy. I have yet to have a client with MD of any sort, but you can bet I'll check this out. We used to do another PT session on Fridays, but recently cut back. oh, my 11 year old is the one with DMD..well, there is a glimpse of my day...
Comment by Jennifer Shumsky on February 1, 2009 at 12:03pm
I work full time 7am-3:30pm M-F, I drive 30 min each way and have the option of working from home 1-2 days a week if needed. I am a RN working in the insurance industry. Xavier is 7, Erica is 4, so we still have a babysitter/nanny that comes to the house to do childcare for Erica and get Xavier off the bus and watch him when he's home sick from school. My husband was working from home full time with lots of flexibility. He is now going into the office 3 days a week, home 2 days. I love being a nurse and the flexibility it offers in jobs. I miss hospital/clinic style nursing, but in the insurance/office setting I sit at a desk, I am not exposed to any germs/blood/ other body products that can hurt me or my family and as I have a BSN I can make just as much money at a desk job. My husband and I have been married for 11 1/2 years, he carries the insurance as his company has great benefits and he's been with them since we've been married.
Comment by Samantha Dearing on February 1, 2009 at 11:20am
I just started working again after not working for over 17yrs. I work in the infant room at a daycare right across the street from the schools. I work part-time from 8am-2pm. We are trying it out to see how it works out. Our son Justin is 12yrs old. I have been married for almost 18yrs.
Comment by Jennifer Collier on February 1, 2009 at 10:45am
Hi Laurie,

I work full-time and drive an hour each way to get there. I teach 8th grade science at a college prep middle school. Very demanding, but my husband is unemployed and we need the money. My little guy is only three so hopefully I will have a while before I'll have to think about quitting. Hope this helps.

Need help using this community site? Visit Ning's Help Page.



© 2021   Created by PPMD.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service