Just looking to find out more about this deletion. If anyone has a child with this deletion I would love to talk to them. It has been almost 3 yrs since my son was diagnosed and I am just learning so much and want to know as much as possible about this disease. I feel like I am coping better by learning more. So if anyone has info on this deletion I would love to hear from you.

Views: 64

Replies to This Discussion

My son has the same deletion. He was diagnosed 7 years ago but for the first 6 years, we did not know where his deletion was due to less than ideal medical care. I am just learning about this particular deletions but know that it is the hottest area of research. I have been told that the European Clinical Trials for Exon Skipping of Deletions 45-50 will move into the US in the next year or so. This gives me hope. What do you know?
I really don't know much about the whole deletion thing. Just figured if I found someone else you had a child with this I could compare it to my sons progression. Nick is 9 and still walking on his own but with some difficulty.

Deirdre Stinchcomb said:
My son has the same deletion. He was diagnosed 7 years ago but for the first 6 years, we did not know where his deletion was due to less than ideal medical care. I am just learning about this particular deletions but know that it is the hottest area of research. I have been told that the European Clinical Trials for Exon Skipping of Deletions 45-50 will move into the US in the next year or so. This gives me hope. What do you know?
Hey, My son has deletions in that area. I am thinking they are doing research to find out more about how a particular deletion can effect them in which way. My son is 13 and was diagnosed September 2001-officially. How old is your son? Not to get too personal, but I was kinda hoping to compare notes about his symptoms and other issues that you have come across.