My son, Aaron, was diagnosed with DMD a little more than two years ago now and of course I've spent a lot of time scouring the internet since then. I'm not dull, but I'm not a medical professional either and many of these articles are obviously pertinent and interesting, even...but about 80% gets lost in the translation.

Where do you find easy-to-understand research updates? Or do you have a place where you go to pick apart the medical journals and make sense of them...like a site to help you interpret? Or are you all just medical experts as wells as parents. :)

As an example, I see so many people discussing the exon skipping and the "in frame" and such terms. I understand the terms nonsense mutation, premature stop, deletion...and such but the "in frame" just bowls me over. HELP me understand, please! My DS has a deletion of exon 44. WHAT does that mean?!? Also, when his doctor first got the DNA results back and informed me of the deletion, he said that he couldn't confirm DMD or BMD but that time would tell. Since then (and without my being informed as that HOW) the opinion was changed to "we've known all along it was DMD"...which is true? Does the genetic testing not confirm, or can it confirm without a doubt which MD a boy has?

THANK YOU for your help!!

Views: 71

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

This webpage has a layperson-friendly way of explaining different mutations, including out-of-frame and in-frame deletions: http://www.actionduchenne.org/variations

I don't know whether all mutations can be pegged to either DMD or BMD.