I am an occupational therapy assistant student, and have been wanting to learn about the lives of people affected by this disorder. If anyone would like to share their story I would greatly appreciate it. I will be doing a presentation to 20 other students who in the future will be working with MD patients. I need to soak up all the knowledge possible. Please feel free to leave me a message

Views: 37

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

As a nurse, I can tell you that most people, including me sometimes don't know the questions to ask. Getting the time from an occupational therapist and actually training the parents are moving, body mechanics, lifting....manipulating portable ramps, wheelchairs, equipment, toileting aspects, urinals....etc is all key.

Time for consults and evaluation is always built into the annual visits - but rarely time for active teaching!!! To me, this is a disconnect. Make sure you observe parents in action. Saying you can do it and then hurting yourself doing it are two different things.

Toileting and clothing are often overlooked. To me - the occupational therapy is the most important part! Coping with daily living!
Sarah,